Aberdeenshire Council wins transport award

Aberdeenshire Council has been named Scottish Transport Authority of the Year for 2012.

It is the third time it has scooped the prestigious title for its work in the field at the Scottish Transport Awards.

The council was shortlisted in two categories as an individual authority and in a further three categories as a member of a partnership.

It was also shortlisted in the Excellence in Road Safety, Traffic Management and Enforcement category for improving road safety in Aberdeenshire.

Chair of Aberdeenshire Council’s Infrastructure Services Committee (ISC), Peter Argyle, said: “I am so very proud of our teams that put their all into keeping us all moving as safely and efficiently as we can, and to have that recognised nationally is just fantastic.

“The transport challenges faced by Aberdeenshire Council are numerous and varied. However, through clear strategies supported across political lines the council is rising to these challenges and delivering high quality services to the residents and businesses of Aberdeenshire.”

ISC vice chair Alan Buchan said: “The same title was also won by the council in both 2008 and 2009, so this represents another excellent achievement by the teams delivering the services.

“Aberdeenshire Council is proud to have a long record of embracing innovations in the transport sector, which has been recognised through numerous awards, and we will continue to try to improve on our achievements.”

The award was presented at a ceremony in Glasgow last Thursday. The council now goes through to the UK Transport Awards after winning the Scottish accolade.