No right-to-buy in Kincardine and Mearns

Stoney view
Stoney view

Council house tenants living in the Kincardine and Mearns area will no longer be able to apply to purchase their homes.

The Scottish Government has designated a number of settlements within Aberdeenshire as pressure areas. This means that there are certain areas that are excluded from the Right-to-Buy scheme owing to a lack of affordable housing.

The Housing (Scotland) Act 2001 introduced the Modernised Right-to-Buy for tenants given a new social rented tenancy after September 30, 2002.

The legislation also amended a number of elements to the Right-to-Buy for social tenants. Scottish Ministers were given powers to designate any part of a local authority as “pressured following an application by the local authority.

Pressured Area Designation was introduced to help to protect the supply of affordable rented housing in areas where there were high needs.

Pressured Area Designation aims to ensure that there are enough affordable rented properties in high- demand areas.

This status has been in effect from November 6, 2008, and is due to finish this coming Novemember.

Plans are currently in effect to extend the pressured area status by a further 10 years.

Pressured Area Status will only affect new tenants and those who took on a tenancy (including those who have succeeded to one) after September 30, 2002, and who live within a designated pressure area.

Currently there are three options for whether you can buy your council house in Kincardine and Mearns within a pressured area.

They are:

n No if your tenancy commenced after March 1, 2011;

n Yes if your tenancy commenced before September 30, 2002 and you have not moved home (even if you live in a Pressured area settlement);

n No if your tenancy began after September 30, 2002, and before March 1, 2011, and you live in a Pressured area settlement.

n ‘Pressure areas’ in Kincardine and Mearns are:

Arbuthnott, Auchenblae, Cowie, Drumlithie, Drumoak, Fettercairn, Fordoun, Glenbervie, Gourdon, Inverbervie, Johnshaven, Kinneff, Kirkton of Durris, Laurencekirk, Luthermuir, Maryculter, Marykirk, Muchalls, Newtonhill,Portlethen, St Cyrus, Stonehaven, Barras, Catterline, Garvock, Glasslaw, Tewel, Ury