Community Council reformed in Bervie

The Royal Burgh of Inverbervie Community Council has officially been reformed after 12 members stepped up to join and take office at their meeting on Monday.

The Community Council disbanded in May after all but two of the Community Councillors put forward their resignations and cited “frustration” at Aberdeenshire Council as the reason for no longer wishing to continue.

With only two members left, the council could no longer function meaning Inverbervie was left without a Community Council for almost five months.

However after frustration from residents and the remaining previous members it has been reinstated.

Those wishing to be part of the Community Council attended the meeting on Monday where the minutes from the May meeting were looked over, discussed and updated. Those wishing to take on a position in the RBICC were put forward and agreed on.

Neil Paterson took the position of Chairperson whilst David Wills took his previous position of Vice-Chairman. New member Moira Smith took the position of secretary whilst Irene Gilchrist took the treasurer position.

The Royal Burgh of Inverbervie Community Council will hold their next meeting on Monday 12 November at 7.30pm in the Burgh Chambers.