Mearns Camera Club award-winners in the frame

editorial image

Mearns Camera Club held their awards and social evening at the Station Hotel, Stonehaven, on Monday evening.

Retiring president David Gold reflected on a very successful year for the club, winning all the local competitions and faring very well at national level.

The standard of the images produced within in the club continued to develop but the club still retained its friendly and welcoming atmosphere.

Membership continued to increase and a good range of activities had been undertaken during the year. A particular mention was given to the running (and winning) of the Grampian Eye which saw the whole club pull to together to stage this prestigious event.

Special mention was given to incoming president Mike Reid who had coordinated the whole event

All the club competetions were very hotly contested but the eventual winners were as follows:

Photographer Of The Year - joint winners - Brian Doyle and Iain Wood, third - Allan Sutherland.

Colour prints - winner Iain Wood, second - Allan Gawthorpe, third - John McSevney.

Mono prints - winner Brian Doyle, second - Allan Sutherland, third Mark Woodfin.

Digital - winner - Brian Doyle, second-equal Andrew Newton and Ping Ling, fourth-equal Allan Gawthorpe and Allan Sutherland.

Beginner of the year - John McSevney.

Best portfolio - Brian Doyle, New York.

Treasure hunt - joint winners - Team A - David Gold, June Gold, Malcolm Stephen; Team D - Martin Sim, Russell Adams, James Mackay, David Jarvie

John McSevney also won a prize for the image that has done best in all competitions this year with ‘Pulsatilla’