Shadow administration

SNP Aberdeenshire councillors met on Monday to agree their Shadow Council Administration team.

At May’s elections, the SNP emerged as the largest party in Aberdeenshire in terms of both votes and seats, with twice the number of councillors as the next largest party. However, a Tory-led coalition of Liberals and Independents, backed by Labour, united to keep the SNP out of administration.

With such a wide-ranging coalition, the SNP Group in Aberdeenshire has decided to name a Shadow Administration to be ready to step in and take over the running of the council.

The key positions are: Group Leader & Shadow Leader of the Council Cllr Hamish Vernal (Inverurie & District); Deputy Leader Cllr Stephen Smith (Peterhead South & Cruden); Chair of the Group Cllr Jim Ingram (Central Buchan); Finance Cllr Fergus Hood (East Garioch); Infrastructure Services Cllr Rob Merson (Ellon & District); Housing & Social Work Cllr Anne Allan (Peterhead North & Rattray); Education, Leisure & Learning Cllr Jean Dick (Mearns); Scrutiny & Audit Cllr Richard Thomson (Ellon & District)

SNP Group Leader and Shadow Leader of the Council Cllr Hamish Vernal said: “The SNP Group has spent some time taking stock of where we are and how we can best move Aberdeenshire forward in the interests of its residents.”