Bruce retains club championship

Club champion Bruce Ferguson.
Club champion Bruce Ferguson.

Summer conditions returned for the final two rounds of the Stonehaven club championship. After the third round there was a two way tie at the top with defending champion Bruce Ferguson and former champion Chris Brown leading the way on a score of 200 (two over par). Steve Guzik was nicely placed 3 strokes behind.

Chris jumped into a 1 stroke lead in the final round after a shaky bogey start from Bruce. They were all square again after Bruce birdied the 4th hole. There was a 3 stroke swing at the 6th and 7th holes when Bruce went par, par to Chris’s bogey, double bogey. He increased this to 5 strokes after he birdied the 12th hole to Chris’s bogey. A run of three 3’s at the gulley allowed Chris to reduce the gap to 3 strokes but a birdie at the 16th hole allowed Bruce to coast home for a 4 stroke victory.

This victory added to his victories in 2010 and 2003 means that 39 year old Bruce is now level with his uncle Stuart McKenzie - his mentor since his junior days. Stuart has threatened to come out of retirement to try for a fourth title.

Results: Bruce Ferguson (67, 67, 66, 66) 266; Chris Brown (67, 66, 67, 70) 270; Craig Irvine (65, 71, 68, 70) 274; Keith Douglas 276; Neil Irvine 277; Steve Guzik 278; Ross McAllan 279; Chris Taylor 280; Scott Murray 281; Alan Cruickshank 282; Stuart Dempster 283; Steven Shand 284; Barry McGillivray, Grant Robb 285.

In conjunction with the championship, the gully cup was also up for grabs. This is for the player with the best score over the gully holes over the four rounds of the championship. Bruce with a score of 38 pipped Chris Brown, Neil Robertson and Grant Robb to take the trophy by one stroke.

On Saturday the members played in the monthly Innes Medal. In division 1 Graeme Docherty had the best scratch and nett score with a 69 nett 62. He won by two strokes from Doug Barnard, Ron Gilmour and Neil Munro. In division 2 Luis Arandia was a clear winner over Kenny Gordon by 4 strokes with a fine nett 59. Nett 59 was also the best score in division 3. This was attained by Kevin Reid who beat Stuart Paul by 2 strokes.

In conjunction with the Innes Medal the Centenary Trophy was also up for grabs due to the competition being cancelled a few weeks ago. There was a tie for the trophy with both Luis Arandia and Kevin Reid both shooting a nett 59. On this occasion Kevin Reid won due to a better inward half.

Results (CSS 65) Division 1: 62 - Graeme Docherty (7); 64 - Doug Barnard (8), Ron Gilmour (11), Neil Munro (7); 65 - Stewart Allsop (6), Chris Brown (5); 66 - Stuart Wood (10), Colin Arthur (7), George Knowles (11), Alistair Duncan (9), David Callaghan (6), Allan Officer (8), Chris Taylor (6). Division 2 59 - Luis Arandia (15); 63 - Kenny Gordon (17); 64 - Brian Thain (14); 65 - David Hepburn (13); 66 - Mike Rendall (13); 67 - Darren Gilchrist (17), David Henderson (12), Jacek Nowak (14), Neil Murray (13). Division 3 59 - Kevin Reid (23); 61 - Stuart Paul (19); 63 - Eric Witton (25); 64 - George Deans (21); 69 - Sandy Walker (19), John Christie (23); 70 - Alexander Duthie (27); 71 - Charles Watt (24), Kevin Boyne (22), Steve Birss (21), Brian Reid (26).

The juniors continued their good form in the regional section of the Off the Tee Trophy on Sunday. This is a foursomes competition consisting of two teams of two players. In the semi final the boys played against Peterculter at their home club and at one point in the match they were 9 up but eventually coasted to a 5 up victory after 18 holes. In the afternoon regional final they were up against Aboyne and again proved too strong and won 3 up in the end.

Results - against Peterculter - Ross Anderson & Ross McAllan won 5 up, Josh Halliday & Kevin Riddell finished all square.

Against Aboyne - Ross Anderson & Ross McAllan won 2 up, Josh Halliday & Kevin Riddell won 1 up. They now go ahead to the finals as Deeside winners against North, West and Aberdeen sectional winners on 21st August.

After the Ladies and Men’s championship it was the turn of the junior championship starting over the weekend. The leading contenders in the scratch competition are all in form with all five boys who entered the men’s championship all qualifying for the final stages - Scott Murray, Josh Halliday, Kevin Riddell, Ross McAllan and Grant Robb.

Results after 2 rounds in the scratch section are: 135 - Scott Murray, 137 - Ross McAllan, 141 - Kevin Riddell, 143 - Ross Anderson, 147 - Josh Halliday, 150 - Grant Robb, Connor Douglas.

Handicap section: 116 - James Arandia (34), 125 - Mark McIntosh (23), 126 - Connor Douglas (12), 127 - Scott Murray (4), Ross McAllan (5), 130 - Kevin Riddell (5), 131 - Kiefer Brown (16), 132 - Liam Davidson (17), Mason Jenkins (23), 135 - Ross Anderson (4), 137 - Josh Halliday (5), 138 - Cameron Davidson (19), Grant Robb (6), 143 - Lewis Mitchell (36). Shot of the day in the second round came from James Arandia who had a hole in one at the second hole off the blue tees using an 8 iron. He was partnered by Connor Douglas and Liam Davidson. Third and fourth rounds are on Tuesday and Thursday this week.

The men were hoping to get back on track at home in the Aberdeen Pennant League but they came up against a very strong team from Banchory. This is Banchory’s first year in the competition and they have a 100% success rate to date.

Results: Craig Irvine & Chris Brown lost to A Lindsay & R Black 6&5; Neil Irvine & Gordon Adamson lost to F Bisset & J Christie 2 down; Stuart Dempster & Barry McGillivray lost to R Gray & M Gordon 3&2; Alan Cruickshank & Kevin Riddell lost to S Cooper & C Lindsay 1 down; Ross McAllan & Grant Robb lost to L Smart & S Birse. Stonehaven 0 Banchory 5.

The club is taking names for the Men’s Open this Saturday and also for the Senior Open on Monday (11th). We also have a new Erskine charity shotgun competition taking place on Sunday 17th July. This is in support of veterans of the armed forces in Scotland. This consists of teams of four made up of men, ladies and/or juniors playing in a texas scramble format. Everyone should be finished in time to sit and watch the final round of the British Open.