Quality assured at local club

Stonehaven Community Football Club (SCFC) has been presented with the SFA Community Club Quality Mark.

The award was made at a a prestigious event held on February 26 at the Double Tree Hotel Aberdeen.

In recent years, Stonehaven Youth have been successfully progressing through the quality mark scheme but over the past 12 months have been working together with adult clubs in the area to create an adult pathway to rival any organisation that has been set up before.

SCFC was formed on the February 12 and is made up of five local football organisations which include Stonehaven Youth FC, Stonehaven FC, Cowie Thistle FC, Stonehaven Athletic FC and Stonehaven Ladies.

Stonehaven Community Football Club is an umbrella organisation which links likeminded organisations together for the good of the community.

SCFC is Governed by a constitution and organisation structure which adheres to the high standards set by the Quality Mark and not only provides a pathway into the adult game but also provides a platform to improve football in the area in terms of better facilities and increased community involvement.

Richard Thomas, from Stonehaven Community Football Club, said: “I want to take this opportunity to thank everyone for their commitment to the club .

‘‘This would not be possible without every one of our coaches and volunteers and, of course, the 400 or so youngsters who we hope will stay with us all the way through into adult football.”

The Quality Mark Accreditation Scheme, run by the Scottish FA in partnership with McDonald’s and sportscotland, recognises proactive clubs and schools working to increase youth and community participation.

There are four Quality Mark categories - Standard, Development, Community and Legacy.

Clubs and schools are recognised through the scheme after demonstrating outstanding performances in areas such as coach and player development, management, administration, welfare and planning.

Stonehaven Community Football Club Committee members are: Stonehaven Youth FC – Richard Thomas, Stonehaven FC – Neale Scott, Cowie Thistle AFC – Scott Crabb, Stonehaven Athletic FC – Mark Campbell, Stonehaven Ladies FC – Darren Perfect.