Fordoun win in 12 goal spectacular

After 5 minutes the home side took the lead, from an MCT corner Fordoun broke quickly D Cruickshank did well to get to the edge of the box and when the ball found its way to McComiskie he cut inside a defender and rolled a sweet finish into the bottom corner to end a run of 3 games without a goal.

The hosts were struggling to build on their lead and eventually MCT forced their way back into the tie. A ball from deep on the left was dumped in to the penalty area then forced home at the back post after a stramash in the box.

Neither team was playing much football on a bumpy pitch but five minutes before half time Fordoun passed the ball quickly from back to front, McComiskie was played into the box and beat the keeper to make the score 2-1.

HT Fordoun Galaxy 2-1 MCT

There was controversy early in the second half when Duncan, with his back to goal, was hauled down in the box to win Fordoun a penalty which saw MCT reduced to 10 men. When the dust settled top scorer N Keddie did the business from 12 yards and Fordoun were 3-1 ahead against 10 man MCT.

It wasn’t long before Fordoun stretched their lead, N Keddie ran in on goal and dinked the ball over the advancing keeper to make it 4-1. Then came the champagne moment, Cuthill held the ball up well in the box and unselfishly rolled it back to Davies who smashed home between the post and the defender on the line.

Last weeks cup hero Myers was next to get in on the act when he slotted him to make it 6-1 then substitute McLaren made an almost immediate impact to make it 7. It wasn’t long before McLaren got his second when Duncan split the MCT defence with a 70 yard pass which the Fordoun forward dispatched.

Myers completed his second double in 2 weeks when he added number 9 and man of the match D Cruickshank made it 10. The final game of what became a comfortable morning for Fordoun Galaxy came when McLaren completed his hat-trick as the clock ran down.

FT Fordoun Galaxy 11-1 MCT

Fordoun: Milne; Anderson(Davies); Cuthill; Cargill; Deans; Myers; N Keddie; R Stirling(Murray); Duncan; D Cruickshank; McComiskie(McLaren