Start of the Summer season and Deeside League

Stonehaven Golf Club
Stonehaven Golf Club

What ho tweeters! Spring is sprung, the grass is rizz, I wonder where the Masters is.

Well the Masters is just a week away and the first major of the year is upon us.

My earliest recollection of the Masters was when Gary Player won in 1978. This was the third Masters championship won by Player - the ninth and final major win of his career.

In 1978 Player took the bull by the horns and played the last round in 64 .. still the record for a final round at Augusta.

He was 42 years old, at that time, the oldest-ever Masters winner!

Gary Player won $45,000 for that year. Compare that to last year’s winner Jordan Speith who took home $1,800,000. I dare say he tipped his caddy more than the Black Knight won!

Oh I love it when the season starts again! And on that note our match convener tells me not only is the masters kicking off this month but so is that other Bastion of fine golf, The Deeside League. There is a sheet posted on the notice board asking anyone interested in representing the club in these excellent fixtures. These are great days out. Good camaraderie, a chance to play some super courses and meet fellow golfers for friendly competition.

It was a welcome return to the summer season this Saturday with the opening event the traditional Innes Medal. A bumper field of more than 130 commenced battle over the course. Scoring proved tough with the CSS being 66 but some stellar performances were seen on the day.

Best gross score - Craig G Irvine with a 66 and one other score in the 60s from Keith Douglas with a 68. Division 1 best net - Paul McRobb, Garry Brown and James Arandia all returned sparkling net 62s. Division 2 best net - Gary Daun – with an even shinier 61. David Thompson and Mike Halliday followed with 63s. Division 3 best net - Gordon Craddock and AF Murray both 66s. Great to see last year’s scratch and handicap champions performing well and the club wishes both Craig G Irvine and Gary Daun good luck for their opening matches in the Champion of Champions competition.