Winter League wraps up at Stoney Golf Club

Stonehaven Golf Club
Stonehaven Golf Club

The Winter League came to a close this week with the finals being contested on Saturday.

The league average score (from their best 10 rounds) is combined with the final round score to determine the winner in each competition.

A very close contest for all three competitions with less than a stroke between first and second.

Scratch Doubles Winners were K Riddell / R McAllan coming from fourth place to win the title this year. The first pairing in the clubhouse with their final round of 60 combined with league average of 63.0 (total 123.0) was enough to beat final round 62’s from both N Irvine / H Roulston (total 123.4) and K Douglas / B Ferguson (total 123.7). Fourth place went to Gr Adamson / W Pittendreigh with Willie unfortunately competing on his own on the final day with a very respectable individual 65 (total 126.5).

Handicap Doubles Winners were K Duncan / I Wood with their leading league average 55.8 and final round 58 (total 113.8). They were kept on their toes however by fourth place qualifiers J Neal / D Henderson bursting through the field to finish 2nd with a net 57 (total 114.2). N MacArthur / M Griffin were well placed and playing well in the final until a blip from both players on the 11th hole meant they fell back and it was always going to be very difficult to pull it back over the final 7 holes. They finished 3rd with a final round 61 (total 117.3). A Barnett / T Simpson also with a final round 61 but finished in 4th place with 118.2

The Singles Winner was Paul Bertolotto. His final round of 40 points combined with league average 38.4 (total 78.4) was enough to edge out the ever present threat in Winter League Golf of Steve McGhie (total 78.3). Unfortunately Steve equalled Paul’s final round of 40 points but his league average of 38.3 just wasn’t quite enough to ensure the win on the day. Russell Duncan and the 2016 Singles champion Malcolm Ritchie with final rounds of 39 and 38 (totals of 77.8 and 77.6 respectively) were also both within 1 point of 1st place. 5th place went to Mark McCracken (76.1 and better final round), 6th was Kevin Duguid (76.1), 7th was Ian Smith (75.8) and 8th Stuart Jones (72.7).