Stonehaven Regatta

Aberdeen and Stonehaven Yacht Club welcomed 76 boats on the weekend of the 11/12th August for their annual open regatta. Whilst 36 sailors travelled from as far afield as Felpham, West Sussex to experience the infamous ‘Irn Bru’ conditions at the venue described affectionately by local sailors as the ‘Weymouth of the North’, 40 home boats also turned out to support the big weekend.

With light winds and plenty of tide to contend with, the race officer and his team did a fantastic job to provide 7 different fleets with 6 races each over the two days. The busy race course encouraged close racing across all fleets, with some boats becoming a little too familiar with each other at times, providing some entertainment for the race committee! There were rumours of more wind on the Sunday, but sadly it, like the dolphin pod, failed to put in a noteworthy appearance. However, this detracted nothing from the sailing which was enjoyed by all.

The ‘DIY’ barbeque on the Saturday evening was, as always, hugely popular with the sailors and the merriment continued well into the long summer evening for some competitors. Needless to say, some crews were not too disappointed with the short postponement of the start on Sunday as we waited for the wind to fill in!

Coming off the back of the success of Team GB at the London 2012 Olympics, the spectacle in the bay and the buzz in the harbour attracted quite a lot of attention amongst local folk and holiday makers keen to experience first hand the excitement of dinghy racing. And whilst there was no podium for the winners to stand on, you might say that the volunteers within the club who organised the event put in a gold medal performance. The club would like to extend its thanks to The Bay Fish and Chip Shop and Dunnotar Wines of Stonehaven, sponsors of the 2012 regatta, and to Aberdeenshire Council who also provided support.

Below are the results of the racing.

Scottish Skiffs- (1st) Alastair Conn – Derwent Reservoir (2nd) Jono Shelley – Aberdeen & Stonehaven YC (3rd) John Evans – Derwent Reservoir

RS400- (1st) Stuart & Sarah Robertson – Royal Forth YC (2nd) Stuart & Richard Urquhart – Royal Findhorn YC

(3rd) Roger Carter & Ian Robertson – Wormit Boat Club

RS200- (1st) Fiona Rigg & Ashly Martin – Dalgety Bay SC (2nd) Graham & Vicki Tait – Aberdeen & Stonehaven YC

(3rd) Chris Perry & Kirsty Lytton – Aberdeen & Stonehaven

Blaze -(1st) Nick Miller – MHYC (2nd) Jonathon Saunders – Felpham SC (3rd) Francis Neill – Aberdeen & Stonehaven YC

Laser - (1st) Pete Malcolm – Largo Bay SC (2nd) Nick Scott (3rd) David Woakes – Port Edgar YC

Laser Radial -(1st) Jack Aitken – Helensburgh YC (2nd) Ian Fitzgerald – Port Edgar YC

(3rd) Iain McLaughlan – Largs SC

General Handicap -(1st) Donald Smith & Alex Taylor (Fireball) – Aberdeen & Stonehaven YC (2nd) Gordon Scott & Brian Inglis (Albacore) Aberdeen & Stonehaven YC (3rd) Karina Brookes & Alex Smith (Laser Stratos) Aberdeen & Stonehaven YC