Wild and windy weekend for start of Handicap trophy

It was another wild and windy weekend last weekend at the Stonehaven golf course for the start of the four round Handicap Trophy. Saturday had the CSS at 66 and on Sunday it was reductions only. Leader after two rounds is John Cowling with another six players within two strokes of the lead. The leading 24 players go forward to the third round which is played on Wednesday with the final round tonight (Friday).

Leading scores 131 John Cowling (17), 132 Gordon Adamson (4), Jim Lonie (10), Doug Lorimar (9), Gary Herd (15), 133 Neil Irvine (1), Craig Martin (8), 136 John Cowie (18), Colin Singer (15), 137 Mike Rendall (12), Steve McGhie (7), 138 Colin Arthur (7), Alister Barnett (15), Brian Thain (14), Graeme Docherty (7), 139 Davie Cruickshank (11).

Saturday also saw the final qualifying round for the D F Leslie scratch matchplay championship. Neil Irvine’s score of 66 along with his first round score of 72 meant he led the 16 qualifiers for the matchplay stage. The cut off score was 154 which was held by Chris Brown and Colin Arthur.

Junior stroke scores: 67 Connor Douglas (14), Grant Robb (8), 71 Kiefer Brown (16), 75 Kevin Riddell (8).

Thursday saw the club play their third Deeside League match at home to Aboyne. The first match proved crucial as all the other games had clear cut results. Stuart Dempster and Allan Officer managed to half their match meaning Stonehaven sneaked a win by 3.5 matches to 2.5.

Results: Stuart Dempster & Allan Officer halved with A McLeod & P Boyle, Colin Arthur & Chris Taylor beat D Anderson & A Emslie 6&5, Davy Callaghan & B Lawson lost to L McWilliam & G Stephen by 3&2, Stuart Wright & Joe Meanen lost to J Sutherland & W Sutherland by 7&6, Eric Innes & Jim Hepburn beat C Stephen & J Grant 3&2, Doug Lorimar & Luis Arandia beat K Bruce & D Forsyth 5&4.

The Scott Trophy was played at Aboyne on Sunday. This is a four man team for all clubs in the Kincardine & Deeside area. Sonehaven’s team of Bruce Ferguson, Gary Graham, Neil Robertson and Chris Taylor finished fourth. Portlethen were the winners with Paul Simpson of Aboyne winning the individual Barclay Harvey Trophy.

Sunday also saw the juniors go up to Alford to play their fourth pennant league match. What was thought to be a potentially tough match ended in a comfortable win to maintain their 100% record this season.

Results: Scott Murray & Ross Anderson won 2&1, Josh Halliday & Ross McAllan won 6&4, Kevin Riddell & Grant Robb won 2&1, Sam Wright & Connor Douglas halved their match, Kiefer Brown & Liam Davidson won 7&6 and finally Cameron Davidson & Mark McIntosh won 6&5.

The boys play their final league match on Sunday away to Northern at the Links.

Congratulations go to junior champion, Ross Anderson for winning the Class 1 section in the recent 36 hole Banchory Junior Open.

There was an error in the result of the Cowie Cup played earlier in the season. It was reported that Mike Rendall won the trophy due to a better second round from Gordon Adamson. The rules actually state that in the event of a tie an 18 hole play off would be required to determine the winner. This play off took place last Friday and Gordon managed to overcome Mike.